I am her

I am in the dark

Looking towards the light

Leaning towards the light

Some days I stand in the sun

Fueled by hope of good things to come

I thrive

Other times the sky is dark

The rain pelts down

Things are out of control

Like this picture I took one evening in my classroom

Four years ago

The storm passed

The brightness of the sun stunned us

One of my girls jumped up on the windowsill

To admire the double rainbow that had formed

The moment that was captured resonated with me

So I decided to paint it

In it I see so much symbolism

I am her

Standing in the dark room

Looking towards the light

Leaning towards the light

I think that’s what hope is

It is seeing the light while stuck in darkness

It is one thing to be hopeful

When you are outside dancing under a rainbow

And quite another when you feel like

Maybe that rainbow was never meant for you

Not too long ago I felt that God gave me a specific confirmation

But the promise shattered

Thick shadows surrounded me

I was disillusioned, frustrated, and distrusting

I was in that dark room

But the sun still shinned and the rainbows still appeared

Whether I wanted them or not

I found myself perched on the windowsill looking out

I saw sunshine on the other side

Wondering when and if it would be mine.

For now, I’m stuck under the rainbow

The meeting point of sunshine and storm

I am her

Standing

Looking

Leaning

Knowing that the room will not always be dark